HS Essay Contest

2017 Essay Contest Info

Tagore Society of Houston(TSH) has taken up the mission of sharing, spreading and promoting the ONE WORLD philosophy of Rabindranath Tagore  and to that end has initiated a number of programs in the field of education.

TSH has been organizing an annual Essay Competition based on a selected of Tagore quote. Since 2014 this program has gained national exposure, the contestants belong to different ethnicities and background coming from various US states. The competition has been judged by group of  preeminent  individuals from the fields of education, politics, legislature, business, media etc.

The top three winners, appart from receiving cash prize and certificate, become the ambassadors of TSH promoting our mission of universilism.

  • 2016 Essay Contest Judges
Kellie Yoh Fort Bend ISD
Mrs Brown Fort Bend ISD
Laura Isensee Houston NPR, Education Cors.
Puja Lodhia ABC 13
Sravana B. Verma Rice University
Amir Mansouri Shell
Walter Morrison Shell
Veena Kaul  ICC Board Member, President of Save-A-Mother
Partha Chatterjee IITGH
Jawahar Malhotra Indo American News
John Graham CEO of Institute of Spirituality and Health
‚ÄčEric Weiner
NPR, BBC Correspondent 
Lee-Alison Sibley
US Dept of State
  • Past Essay Quotes and Winners
SL Num Quote Year/Winners
1.      Bigotry tries to keep truth safe in its hand with a grip that kills it 2016 Winners
2.      Life is given to us, we earn it by giving it. 2015 Winners
3.      That I exist is a perpetual surprise which is life.  2014 Winners
4.      Don't limit a child to your own learning, for he was born in another time - 2013 Winners
5.      The highest education is that which does not merely give us information but makes our life in harmony with all existence. 2012 Winners
6.      The tendency in modern civilization is to make the world uniform… Let the mind be universal. The individual should not be sacrificed. 2011 Winners
7.      I slept and dreamt that life was joy. I awoke and saw that life was service. I acted and behold, service was joy. 2010 Winners